All exams/Motorcycle permit test by state

Motorcycle permit test by state: age, questions and permit rules

The motorcycle knowledge test is separate from the car permit test, and states publish very little about it. Here is what 8 agencies actually say about the motorcycle permit test: the minimum age, the pass mark where there is one, what a permit lets you do, and how a rider course changes the road test.

Compiled from each agency’s own pages on September 30, 2026 · A dash means the agency doesn’t publish that number

StateQuestionsTo passMinimum ageSource
CaliforniaFree questions—80%15½ (with driver education and a motorcycle training certificate)CA
Florida5040 (80%)16 (no one under 16 may operate a motorcycle; a Motorcycle Only license at 16 or 17 needs a learner's license held for one year with no traffic convictions)FL
Georgia——16GA
New Jersey——17 (parent or guardian consent under 18)NJ
New York2014 (70%)Not stated on the permit page; 16 to qualify for the safety-course road-test waiverNY
Ohio——15 years, 6 months (for the temporary permit)OH
Pennsylvania——Not stated on the permit page; under 18 has extra requirementsPA
Texas——15 for a special restricted Class M (250 cc or less; the limit comes off at 16)TX

California motorcycle permit test

  • Three attempts to pass the knowledge test on one application.
  • The instruction permit allows no passengers, no freeway riding and no night riding.
  • Riders under 21 need the DL 389 certificate from a California Motorcyclist Safety Program course.

Source: California DMV — Motorcycle licenses · Free California motorcycle practice test

Florida motorcycle permit test

  • To add a motorcycle endorsement you must hold a valid Class E license and pass the Basic RiderCourse with an authorized Florida Rider Training Program sponsor (s. 322.12(5)(a), Florida Statutes). There is no separate motorcycle knowledge test on this route.
  • The knowledge test applies to a Motorcycle Only license: it is the same test as for a regular Class E license (50 questions, 40 correct to pass), plus the Basic RiderCourse.
  • After the course, get the endorsement within one year or the course completion and its waiver status become invalid and you retake the course.
  • A motorcycle endorsement from another state is reciprocated (Alabama's only with a Basic RiderCourse card).

Source: FLHSMV — Motorcycle rider education and endorsements

Georgia motorcycle permit test

  • The Class MP instructional permit is valid for 6 months.
  • Permit limits: daylight hours only, no passengers, no limited-access roadways, DOT-approved helmet.
  • The Basic RiderCourse earns a 90-day test waiver for the motorcycle license test.
  • A passed motorcycle knowledge exam is valid for one year.

Source: Georgia DDS — Motorcycle rider licensing

New Jersey motorcycle permit test

  • Permit holders may not ride from half an hour after sunset to half an hour before sunrise, carry passengers, or use state toll roads and limited-access highways.
  • Six months of practice riding if you are under 21; three months with no suspensions if you are 21 or over.
  • The Basic Rider Course is about 5 hours of classroom and 10 hours of riding; the road test needs your own registered, insured motorcycle.

Source: NJ MVC — Motorcycle

New York motorcycle permit test

  • At least 2 of the 4 road-sign questions must be correct, even with 14 right overall.
  • The DMV suggests 30 hours of practice, including 10 in medium to high-volume traffic, before a road test.

Source: NY DMV — Get a motorcycle learner permit and license

Ohio motorcycle permit test

  • Pass a motorcycle knowledge test and vision screening at a driver exam station, or take the test online if you are an adult with a valid Ohio driver license, then buy the temporary permit (TIPIC) within 60 days of passing.
  • If you fail the knowledge test, wait at least 24 hours; there is no limit on attempts.
  • The TIPIC is valid one year from purchase. Limits: daylight hours only, no passengers, no interstates or congested roads, helmet and protective eyewear.
  • The skills test follows: fail any part and you wait one week. A Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course completion card waives the skills test for 60 days.
  • Under 18: hold the permit at least 6 months, complete driver education and 50 hours of driving, and complete a motorcycle safety course first.

Source: Ohio BMV — motorcycle/motor scooter license

Pennsylvania motorcycle permit test

  • A vision screening and a motorcycle knowledge test at a Driver License Center; the Class M learner's permit is valid for one year and costs $12.
  • Under 18: hold the permit for 6 months and log 65 hours of practice before the skills test.
  • The PA Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Rider Course counts as 15 of those hours.

Source: PA DMV — Get a Class M (motorcycle) license

Texas motorcycle permit test

  • An applicant for an original Class M license must show proof of completing a DPS-approved motorcycle operator training course (Transportation Code §521.148).
  • A special restricted Class M is open to ages 15 to 17 who passed the course; it allows a motorcycle of 250 cc or less, and DPS removes the limit on the 16th birthday without another course (§521.224).
  • DPS's motorcycle license page says a course completion certificate lets it waive the motorcycle knowledge test, and that the certificate is valid for 24 months.

Source: Texas Transportation Code §521.148 (Class M application)

How to use this before test day

  1. Find your state and check whether the agency publishes a question count or pass mark; most do not.
  2. Read the state’s own motorcycle manual: the questions come from it, not from the car manual.
  3. Note what your permit bans (passengers, night riding, highways) before you ride on it.
  4. Ask whether a rider course replaces the road test where you live, and book it early.

Also taking the car test? See the permit test by state table, or practise for your state’s car permit test.

Practising for California?

Original questions written from the California Motorcycle Handbook (DL 665): 20 free, with an explanation and source note on every answer.

Motorcycle permit test FAQ

It depends on the state, and most agencies do not say. Of the 8 states here, only Florida (50 questions, 40 correct to pass, for a Motorcycle Only license) and New York (20 questions, 14 correct to pass) publish a count. Where a number is missing we show a dash instead of guessing.

California publishes 80%; Florida publishes 80%; New York publishes 70%. New York requires 14 of 20 correct, including at least 2 of the 4 road-sign questions. The other states do not publish a pass mark for the motorcycle test.

Not always, but a course often replaces a test. California requires one under 21. Florida requires the Basic RiderCourse for new riders, Texas requires an approved course for a Class M license, Ohio and Georgia give a skills-test waiver for their courses, Pennsylvania counts its Basic Rider Course as 15 hours of practice, and New Jersey offers an approved Basic Rider Course. Check your state's row for its rule.

In California, Georgia, New Jersey and Ohio, no: each bars passengers and limited-access highways for permit holders, and restricts night riding (Ohio allows daylight hours only). The pages we read for the other states do not list those limits, so check your state's motorcycle manual before you ride.

Each fact was read from the state agency's own web page on September 30, 2026, and every row links to its source. The Ohio BMV and Florida HSMV sites block automated reading, so those two pages were read from copies saved in a browser. The Texas DPS site is unreachable for us, so Texas comes from the Transportation Code, with one detail (the knowledge-test waiver) taken from a search summary of the DPS page and marked in its row. Rules change, so confirm with your motor vehicle agency before you test.